Testimonials from our VRBO listing!

Fabulous Girls Getaway!!!

Guest:: Becky Murphy

Date of stay: 11/01/13 Review Submitted: 11/22/13

We were looking for the perfect weekend away from the city…. And we found it!!!! We had a great time and look forward to going back next year. We stayed for a long weekend, and our routine was as follows: Hit the hiking trails in the AM or went for a bike ride to the lake. Antiquing and shopping in Hudson in the afternoon and then wine by the fire in the evening. It was perfect! We also ended up going to the Stissing House one night for dinner. Expensive, but well worth it!
Recommended for: girls getaway.

My dream home…found!

Guest:: Caroline Kreek

Date of stay: 10/11/13 Review Submitted: 11/22/13

I cannot say enough good things about this little slice of heaven just miles outside of New York City. We went there for a long weekend with three other couples and had the most magical “fall” weekend I could have ever imagined….I should start by saying I’ve been seeking a ‘Vermont-esque’ place to go during the Fall time for years close to New York City but have yet to find somewhere that does the trick…until now.

Not only is the house beautifully decorated (think mahogany, plaid, fireplaces, large chandeliers, handsome pieces of antique furniture) but it is large enough that each couple felt like they were on their own mini-vacation! We were able to gather in one of the many common areas but also spend time in our own areas without feeling that anyone else was even on the same property.

We spent the weekend antiquing in Hudson, cooking HUGE meals in the gourmet kitchen (and I found the kitchen to be perfectly stocked with appliances, utensils, etc), walking the grounds, sitting by one of the many fireplaces, and enjoying cards or boardgames from the game room.

It was a perfect escape…I was frankly thrilled to not have WiFi access and would have been disappointed to spend the weekend connected when I was surrounded by such beautiful nature!

We are planning to come back this winter for a more romantic getaway but I also think this would be a perfect place to come during the summer season…tennis courts, a pool, pond… a great place all around!

I would highly recommend this house to anyone seeking an escape from the chaos of the city and wanting to disconnect, relax, and enjoy nature. Our weekend was certainly full of laughter, love and memories.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet friendly, girls getaway, romantic getaway.


doodletown_winter_2

Escape with no Hassel

Guest:: Melinda (New York City)

Date of stay: 12/01/11 Review Submitted: 12/13/11

Beyond the fantastic amenities that this home has to offer (I will get to that in a few), I would say that one of the BEST features is its proximity to NYC. Within a two hour drive, this destination offers an unbelievable escape from the city without having to beat traffic.

The home itself provides all of the comforts of home, plus some. With multiple bedrooms, it can house your whole family (or all of your friends) and offers each member of the family multiple activities ON the premises to keep occupied. Outdoors, there is a pool, spa, basketball court and bocce ball court. Indoors, there is a fantastic gourmet kitchen, game room and multiple comfortable seating areas. It is a perfect spot for groups looking to spend time together, but have enough space and activities to keep everyone busy.

I would highly recommend a stay here.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.


mainhouse-front

Can’t Say Enough

Guest:: Patrick (New York City)

Date of stay: 10/13/11 Review Submitted: 10/13/11

Privacy, seclusion, beautiful accomodations, fresh mountain air … this country retreat has it all. I live a stressful life in New York City, and retreats to this property on Doodletown Road provided precisely the kind of soul-soothing relaxation I was looking for — just a short drive from NYC or Boston. I enjoyed hiking the trails, kayaking around the pond and shooting late-night billiards with some fellow friends. The owner and caretaker were totally hands-off, allowing our party to settle in, relax and feel like we were at home … and not on some sterile, hotel room vacation. If I can’t make it back up to see the autumn leaves changing, I’m hoping to convince my girlfriend and our friends to head back up for some winter snowshoeing around this fantastic property. I highly recommend you kick back and enjoy everything this exquisite home and surrounding region have to offer.
Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.


image (15)

Can’t Say Enough

Guest:: Sam (Boston)

Date of stay: 10/01/11 Review Submitted: 10/17/11

Pictures or even scrapbooks cannot do the place justice. It is a beautiful, expansive property that is perfect for any occasion. Forget about seeing any neighbors, you can’t even see the road. Just an amazing place.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.


pond_3

Where’s The Sixth Star?

Guest:: Mr. Chatham (Boston)

Date of stay: 06/17/11 Review Submitted: 10/13/11

My wife, son, and I met several other couples here this past summer and fell in love with the place. Peaceful. Majestic. Serene. And pimped out with every amenity you could imagine. Endless things for both kids and adults to do. Or do nothing…which is just as rewarding.

We return to our busy lives in the Boston area and dream of returning to “Doodle” one day…
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.


doodletown_summer_1

If I could move anywhere in the world…

Guest:: Anonymous

Date of stay: 05/17/11 Review Submitted: 09/25/11

I cannot say enough about my stays at this home. It is my favorite place to get away from it all, spacious both inside and out to relax, take a deep breath and enjoy the sweeping scenery. If you can drag yourself away from all of the wonderful relaxing things to do there (hot tub/pool, entertainment barn, row on the pond, hike etc), the lovely town of Rhinebeck (just a short drive away) is a perfect location for boutique shopping and fine dining.

The photographs provided are all accurate and the home is impeccably maintained. I’ve been both in the summer and in the winter, and didn’t want for anything during either stay. Christina, the owner, is a gem and was very helpful with any questions we had.

This is an ideal location for mid-size parties, groups of friends, family reunions/getaways. It’s just a quick train ride away from Manhattan, and well worth the short trip.

Couldn’t recommend it more highly. Can’t wait to return!

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Find Us on VRBO!

HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews

Contact Us Today!

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Ask Us About

Your Message

2+1=?